Give, Giving

June 26, 2012 Comments Off

The real Chidananda is within you
By Swami Jitamohananda, Orissa

I was fervently praying to the Lord to send me my Guru
who must be a self realized saint. My devout prayer
and intense aspiration got fulfilled very soon as I
was initiated by Pujya Swami Chidanandaji Maharaj in
1978 at Sunabeda.

I was a beginner in the spiritual path; my devotion
and faith were not so strong. I did not have the
conviction that the Guru is antaryami. But one
incident changed my life. In 1981, I went to Sivananda
Ashram, Rishikesh, to attend Sadhana Saptaha with
Sankarshan Mangaraj of Puri. One day, while returning
to the ashram after visiting Geeta Bhawan and
Paramartha Niketan, we found a beggar asking for a
coin. As a beginner in divine life, I was religiously
practising Gurudev’s instruction of “GIVE”. I searched
my pockets for a coin. There was no coin and I found
only one two rupee note. I was reluctant to part with
two rupees for one beggar only as I could satisfy
eight beggars with those two rupees, converting it
into small coins. I was indecisive and did not give
anything to that beggar. I was unhappy with myself. We
reached Samadhi Mandir for attending the afternoon
programme. Param Pujya Swami Chidanandaji Maharaj was
addressing the sadhaks. We took our seats in the back.
To my utter surprise, Pujya Swamiji Maharaj was
explaining the teachings of Swami Sivananda on the
topic “GIVE”. Swamiji said, “Giving is a sadhana. It
has to be performed with large heart and proper
understanding. Suppose you have gone to the other side
of the Ganges. A beggar approaches you for a coin; you
search your pockets and can bring out only one two
rupee note. Coins are not available to you. You are
then indecisive and go on thinking that instead of
satisfying eight beggars, why should I give it to one?
This is not proper. Who is that beggar? He is Lord
Narayana. If you are hungry, can you appease your
hunger with a morsel of rice? How pitiable it is!
While giving, it is proper only to fulfill one’s need
to the best of our capacity. See always the Lord in
the receiver. Then ‘GIVING’ will be converted into
direct worship of God who dwells in you and in him and
who is both antarayami and sarvavyapak”.

I was stupefied and confounded as to what was
happening. It was beyond my intellect to understand.
How the master knew everything–tit-bit of my actions-
-on the other side of the Ganges? My thought process,
in no time, touched the yogic mind of Sri Gurudev.
Again, I was caught. In reply to the question in my
mind, the compassionate master went on telling, “I am
only dummy Chidananda sitting here and talking to you.
You are seeing my physical form. But the real
Chidananda is within you. I dwell in you as antaryami.
I see everything, whatever you think and talk and
wherever you are, I look after you.”

This unforgettable incident was a turning point in my
spiritual life. From that moment, I was determined to
practise “GIVING” as instructed by Sri Gurudev. How
can I express the inexpressible blissful feelings of
mine! My experience is not a new experience. The world
knows that Swami Chidananda is antaryami and
sarvavyapak.

Tagged: , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Give, Giving at Teachings Of Masters.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 193 other followers

