Gaia Theory: Chakras and the Seven Sacred Cities

December 18, 2010 Comments Off on Gaia Theory: Chakras and the Seven Sacred Cities

Sri Ravishankar



Seven cities in India correspond to seven centres or chakras in our body: Ayodhya, Mathura, Maya, Kashi, Kanchi, Avantika, Puri drawaravati chaiva, saptaide moksha dayika.
Maya or Haridwar corresponds to the mooladhar chakra situated at the base of the spine. When the jadata or lethargy goes and enthusiasm begins, you commence your journey. Haridwar, the starting point, is the door to the house of the Divine. Kanchi corresponds to the swadhisthana chakra situated behind the genitals, as the presiding deity here is
Kamakshi, the goddess of kama or desire.

Ayodhya corresponds to the third chakra, the manipura, situated in the navel region, where joy, generosity, greed and jealousy manifest. All these emotions are connected to Ayodhya.

It was the jealousy and greed of Kaikeyi that made Rama take vanavas. Ayodhya is also known for the generosity of Rama. The joy of Rama’s return to Ayodhya is celebrated as Diwali. Joy, generosity, greed and jealousy meet in the nabhi pradesh, Ayodhya. Ayodhya also means where there is no fight, where it cannot hurt.

Mathura is anahata, the heart chakra. The heart is associated with three emotions: Love, fear and hatred. Mathura symbolises the love and devotion of the gopis for Krishna, as well as of the fear and hatred of Kansa, all matters of the heart.

Avantika, also called Ujjain, is related to the vishuddha or the throat chakra. Ujjain is the city of art and
literature. Poet Kalidas hailed from Ujjain. It is also the city of Vikramaditya, of grief and glory. We feel gratitude in the throat region – we get choked.

Kashi represents the ajna chakra situated between the eyebrows. Kashi has always been the seat of knowledge. That’s why the ajna chakra is also called gyana chakshu, the third eye. Kashi is the city of pundits and scholars.

Dwaraka represents the sahasrara, the crown chakra on top of the head. Dwarka literally means: “Where is the door?” The door is irrelevant if there are no walls. Infinity has no walls. Krishna left his body in Dwarka.
Sahasrara also means thousand avenues. It means the pathless path. The path to liberation begins at Haridwar and culminates at Dwarka.

The soul is called Purusha. Pura means a town. Purusha means one who lives in the town. The Purusha is unbound and infinite. But the Purusha experiences bondage with all the negative emotions. Positive feelings
with knowledge are liberating. Positive feelings without knowledge create negative emotions which are stifling, hence one experiences bondage. When you observe the prana moving through different centres
associated with sensations, the negative feelings cease to exist and one is libera-ted from bondage.

The microcosm and the macrocosm are interlinked. Planet earth, home to many organisms, is itself a large
organism. It is not just a place for living beings; it is a living organism as a whole. This is what the Gaia theory says. Materialism considers everything as objects. Spirituality, on the other hand, discovers life in everything. So do children. For them, the moon talks, the sun smiles and the mountains hear. Everything comes alive. Chicken, cows, mice – all are perceived to be in communication mode. Even cities have collective consciousness. A street where unethical people conduct their business is believed to emit heavy vibrations whereas an educational institution or a place of worship emits positive and light vibrations.


 The seven sacred rivers are the Ganga, Yamuna, Saraswati, Godavari, Narmada, Sindhu and Kaveri.

Together with the seven sacred cities, they are linked to the seven sacred spots within you.



SOURCE: Gaia Theory: Chakras and the Seven Sacred Cities By Sri Sri…


Tagged: , , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Gaia Theory: Chakras and the Seven Sacred Cities at Teachings Of Masters.