Pranayama is the practice

July 24, 2012 Comments Off on Pranayama is the practice

Pranayama is the practice (sadhana) by which you hold your breath (prana). Its significance may be understood when we recognise that there are five different vital airs namely, prana, apana, vyana, udana and samana. The process by which these vital airs are controlled is called Pranayama and this gives inner vision. In Pranayama the three different kinds of stages are Rechaka (exhaling), Puraka (inhaling) and Kumbhaka (holding breath). Through Rechaka and Puraka one is able to get control over the various vital airs and take them in. Holding the airs (breath) during the process is kumbhaka. Along with this, Prathyahara, should be observed to attain bliss. The organs and the mind always wish to look at an d concern themselves with the external objects. The mind develops sensuous desires by looking at them. As a result of these desires, the mind becomes impure. Prathyahara consists in turning the mind inwards and away from the external objects. – Bhagavan Sri Sathya Sai Baba, from: Summer Showers in Brindavan in 1973, Ch 7


Tagged: , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pranayama is the practice at Teachings Of Masters.


%d bloggers like this: