The Pledge

March 20, 2013 Comments Off on The Pledge

[Poojya Swamiji at the instance of some devotees and seekers has been conducting an Yearly exposition in Thrissur on Bhagavadgeeta, wherein each year, one chapter is dealt with and exposed to the audience over a period of 8 to 10 days. This year was the 18th such year and the conclusion of the 18th chapter. On this occassion Poojya Swamiji administered an oath which was taken by nearly 1000 listeners of the Geeta Tattva Sameeksha Satram at Sreemoola-sthanam of Vadakkunathan Temple, Thrissur, the venue of the event for the last 18 years (1996-2013).]

1. I recognize Bhagavadgeeta, the unparalleled conversation on Dharma between Krishna and Arjuna, that transpired over 5000 years ago, as the source of principles and values, and as the eternal message, that will guide the ceaseless interactions I have with the world.

2. Based on reason and rationality, I accept that this universe perceived during my wakeful state, and that which becomes completely extinct in my deep sleep state, does not in truth have independent sovereign status, it being in reality an extension of the Self. I understand that my senses are superior to the world objects, the mind is superior to the senses, superior is the intelligence to the mind, and the witness of all, the imperishable Self denoted by the term ‘I’, is the Supreme. Thus, the essence of my existence is loftier than the visible world.

3. I resolve to assimilate all experiences and impacts brought by interactions with the world, and acquire more and more sublimity, wisdom and inner expansion through them.

4. Understanding the greatness and glory of my true Self, I shall strive to attain excellence, felicity, and fulfillment in life by adopting Bhagavadgeeta as the steady and perpetual basis of my contemplation and introspection.

5. I solemnly promise that I shall convey my resolve and conviction to others also, and inspire them to enrich and empower their lives with the values proclaimed in Bhagavadgeeta.  –  Swami Bhoomananda Tirtha[27 January 2013, Thrissur]

(c) Narayanashrama Tapovanam, 2012

Tagged: , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Pledge at Teachings Of Masters.

meta

