Mind is the seat of all Joy

April 6, 2013 Comments Off on Mind is the seat of all Joy

Understand that the mind is the seat and source of all joy and fulfilment. Whether it is through the objects outside by interactions or not, the joy is always produced by the mind. If mind is the source of joy, keeping the resourceful mind within you, can you not become joyful? Yes, is the answer. Why is it that your mind is not becoming joyful? The reason is: It is disturbed by so many traits like egotism, possessiveness, greed, jealousy, intolerance, hatred and such other constrictions.

Now, having identified these, tell yourself: “I don’t want all these constricting and harmful notes. I am interested in good elements.” When the good thoughts come, welcome them and when the bad thoughts come, simply dissuade them. Dissuading means what? Do not love them. Do not linger with them. Simply say: “No!” That is all you are expected to do. When you dissuade the bad thoughts consistently for a period, those thoughts will become redundant. They will lose their currency. And they will not appear again and again.

But don’t control them. Always meet them with an attitude of dissuasion. Your attitude should be: “I don’t want these bad thoughts. I want to be good. I want to be glorious. I want to be happy. I want to be contented. I want to be joyous. And my joy will only come from within me. Whether other things are there or not, I want to be happy. And mind is the source of my happiness. When I get happiness, I don’t need anything else.” In this way, you have to think, rethink, evaluate, reevaluate and grow to become refined.  – Swami Bhoomananda Tirtha
[An extract from Poojya Swamiji’s Prabhaata-rashmi message published in the monthly journal Vicharasethu.]
(c) Narayanashrama Tapovanam, 2012

Tagged: , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mind is the seat of all Joy at Teachings Of Masters.

meta

