The Many Levels of Love

June 5, 2013 Comments Off on The Many Levels of Love

Those wondering how they could ever live with zero tolerance
for all discord and disharmony need only realize that people are naturally
tolerant with those they love. The good mother tolerates all the little
problems her beloved infant brings into each day. The loving wife tolerates the
faults and actions of her husband. A true friend tolerates another friend’s
foibles and even rough words. If we learn to love, we automatically learn to
have perfect tolerance for those we love. The ancient Tirukural reminds us,
“When friends do things that hurt you, attribute it to unawareness or to
the privileges of friendship” (805).
Love comes in many forms. There is physical love, magnetic
attraction. This is dualistic love, because if the other person responds, you
feel very good, and if he does not respond, you don’t like him. That is not the
kind of love that is all encompassing. It is a very narrow form of love. It
broadens a little bit with emotional love, which is the second kind of love.
You love someone because he makes you happy, or you express love to make other
people happy. But if someone doesn’t make you happy or you are trying to make
someone else happy and he just won’t be happy, then you don’t like him anymore.
That is also a dualistic form of love. It is not all encompassing. Physical
love and emotional love are companions.
Then there is intellectual love, which comes in and breaks
it all up. In the intellect, if you love somebody and he doesn’t agree with
you, then you don’t like him. That interrupts the physical love and the
emotional love. Arguments start, sarcasm begins to well up. These are all forms
of partial love. People experience this every day.
Spiritual love is the fourth kind. Somewhat hard to come by,
it is the love from the soul body. Spiritual love transcends physical love,
emotional love and mental love. It transcends all kinds of feelings. It has a
feeling of its own, which is called bliss–the ever-flowing energy from Siva
out through your body, the ever-flowing energy from Siva out through your mind,
the ever-flowing energy of Siva out through your emotions. Caught up in that
ever-flowing energy, you can truly say to everyone, “I love you.” And
what does you mean? You means Siva, because you are seeing Siva in each one. What
are you looking at when you say that? You are not looking at the body. You are
not appreciating or depreciating the intellect. You are not even bothered about
the emotions, whether you are liked or not liked, because you are seeing Siva
emanating out through the eyes, emanating out through the aura, emanating out
through the skin. Siva is there, and you are living with Siva.
This great, Supreme God of all the Gods is limited in one
respect: He cannot take Himself out of you or anyone else. So mentally say,
“I love you,” then ask yourself the question, “What does you
mean?” Does you mean you like the body of the person? No. Does you mean
you like the emotions of the person? No. Does you mean you like the intellect
of the person? No. Does you mean you like somebody as long as they are always
pleasing to you, always agreeing with you, never upsetting you, never pulling
away from you? No. It means that you love their soul. It means that you love
Siva inside of them. The light within their eyes is Siva’s light. The light
that lights up their thoughts is Siva’s light, and that is what you love. That
love is all encompassing. That love is not partial love, half love or just a
little bit of love given when it pleases you. It’s not magnetic love; it’s not
intellectual love. You are not putting any demands on the other person at all.
You are not expecting anything back. It is love for the sake of love.
There should be a unique English word for spiritual love,
but there is not. In Sanskrit we do have a word for divine love: prema.
Therefore, we have to adjust our thinking when we say, “I love you,”
to this all-encompassing, beautiful love that radiates throughout the
universe–the perfect universe where everything is in harmony and order. And
even if it is seemingly out of harmony, you know it actually is in harmony
because you are in the state of consciousness where harmony is, where peace is,
where bliss is. Therefore, your Saiva Siddhanta religion can work in your daily
life. –  Satguru Sivaya Subramuniyaswami
Lesson 300 from Living with Siva
These lessons are drawn from Gurudeva’s 3,000 page trilogy
on Hindu philosophy, culture and metaphysics, available in the full-color
volumes of Dancing, Living and Merging with Siva at our Minimela online store.



Tagged: ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Many Levels of Love at Teachings Of Masters.


%d bloggers like this: